HOW TO APPLY FOR A MARRIAGE LICENSE IN LOUISIANA

MARRIAGE LICENSE COST $35.00 – CASH

APPROXIMATE APPLICATION TIME IS 15-20 MINUTES

AT LEAST ONE PARTY TO THE MARRIAGE MUST APPLY IN PERSON AND FURNISH THE FOLLOWING FOR BOTH APPLICANTS.

  1. A certified copy of the birth certificate or a waiver of the birth certificate from our District Judge. {NO CHARGE FOR THE WAIVER}
  2. Most information will be taken from the birth record, if available, if production of the birth record is waived by the Judge, please provide the following for both, parties:
    -full name as stated on birth record
    -date of birth
    -state of birth
    -parent/father’s full name and state of birth
    -parent/mother’s full name [MAIDEN NAME] and state of birth
  3. Addresses for mailing for the both parties and Parish of residence.
  4. Social Security #s for both parties.
  5. Highest grade of education completed-No Proof Necessary
  6. If either party was married before, we need a certified copy of their Divorce Judgment/Decree showing the date of divorce.
  7. The Marriage License expires 30 days from date of issuance. The ceremony must be performed before the expiration date.
  8. The couple must wait 24 hours from the time/date of issuance before they wed, unless they obtain a waiver of the 24-hour waiting period from our District Judge or Justice of the Peace. The waiver must be obtained before the ceremony and must be returned with the marriage license to the Clerk. {Effective 8/1/2018 changed to 24 hours.}
  9. A Minister of the Gospel, Judge or Justice of the Peace may perform the ceremony. A license to marry issued in Louisiana, must be used within the territorial limits of the State of Louisiana. Two witnesses of full age must also sign the Certificates. (LRS 9:244)
  10. No blood tests are required for Marriage License in Louisiana.
  11. Civil Code Article 90 prohibits marriage within the 4th collateral degree. You must not be related by blood or adoption.

AGE REQUIREMENTS

Applicants must be 18 years of age to obtain a marriage license without judicial consent. If either applicant is under 18 years of age (and there are not more than three years difference in age between the applicants), a court order is required in addition to the written concurrence of his/her father and mother, or the parent having his/her legal custody, or of the tudor of his/her person. The applications are urged to seek the advice of an attorney, as a court hearing and judicial interview is required. If either applicant is under 18, the clerk of court cannot under any circumstance issue a marriage license if there are more than three years difference in age between the applicants. Per Louisiana law, persons under 16 years of age may not marry under any circumstances, effective August 1, 2019 per Act 401 of the 2019 Legislative Session.

PLEASE CONTACT THE CLERK OF COURT OFFICE IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS OR NEED ADDITIONAL INFORMATION.

OFFICE HOURS: MONDAY-FRIDAY, 8:30 AM TO 4:30 PM

 

Community Property & Covenant Marriage Pamphlet

 

If born outside U.S. or its territories:

    • Certified copy of party’s birth certificate and a valid and unexpired passport, or
    • Certified copy of party’s birth certificate and unexpired visa accompanied by Form I-94 as issued by the U.S.
    • Order waiving birth certificate(s) WITH letter from proper registration authority that a thorough search was made and no birth record was located (RS 9:227 & 228).
  • Certified translation of birth certificate if certificate is in a language other than English:
    • Must include sworn declaration of translator.